Wexford Racecourse



About Wexford Racecourse

Wexford Racecourse is situated in south-east Ireland and hosts both National Hunt and Flat racing between the months of March and November. The biggest change in the racecourse’s history took place in 2015 when the track went from a right-handed circuit to left-handed. This has resulted in the winning post moving away from the main grandstands.


Location of Wexford Racecourse

Wexford Racecourse is located less than 2km to the west of the town of the same name and the same distance of the main railway station from where trains run regularly to Dublin. From the station, taxis can be found with the journey to the course costing €5 – €7. A regular bus service also connects the town centre with the racecourse while those feeling a little more energetic can walk the route in around 20 minutes.



There is only one track at Wexford and this is a right-handed undulating track, rectangular in shape with a length of under nine furlongs. There is an uphill gradient on the home straight with a length of two furlongs although in general this is a sharp track with pretty tight bends, thus favouring the handier speedy type of runner. The hurdles course is on the inside of the chase circuit, the latter having six fences in one circuit with just one on the finishing straight.



Wexford Betting Guide

The ground at Wexford can change considerably in just a single day’s racing. The undulations make it extremely difficult to water and as such it isn’t an easy task making it uniform throughout. The fences are regarded as some of the fairest in Ireland.


Trainers & Jockeys

Henry de Bromhead stands head and shoulders above the rest of the trainers over the past three years in chase with 9 wins from 30 and a strike rate of 30% while Willie Mullins sits in pole position for hurdle with 11 wins from 27 runners. Mullins also has 5 wins from 12 in National Hunt Flat. S W Flanagan is pick of the jockeys on chase with 6 wins from 33 rides while Paul Townend has 10 wins from 25 on hurdle. National Hunt Flat is dominated by P W Mullins who has 5 wins from 16 runs.